5+ GOLD Star Review: Out of Line by Jen McLaughlin




Out Of Line

by Jen McLaughlin




Description


Desperate to break free…

I've spent my entire life under my father’s thumb, but now I'm finally free to make my own choices. When my roommate dragged me to my first college party, I met Finn Coram and my life turned inside out. He knows how to break the rules and is everything I never knew I wanted. A Marine by day and surfer by night, he pushes me away even as our attraction brings us closer. Now I am finally free to do whatever I want. I know what I want. I choose Finn. 

Trying to play by the rules...

I always follow orders. My job, my life, depends on it. I thought this job would be easy, all the rules were made crystal clear, but when I met Carrie Wallington, everything got muddy. She's a rule I know I shouldn't break, but damn if I don’t inch closer to the breaking point each time I see her. I’m ready to step out of line. And even worse? I’m living a lie. They say the truth will set you free, but in my case…

The truth will cost me everything.



Buy Links


  

** side note **

For one week only Out of Line is on sale!

OUT OF LINE is actually available now! Jen released it a bit early to try to avoid any upload issues with the retail sites. The book is on sale for ONE WEEK ONLY for just .99 cents



BONUS, if you purchase the ebook this week, it comes signed!





Author Info & Links


Jen McLaughlin writes steamy New Adult books for the young and young at heart. Her first release, Out of Line, is due out September 2013. She also writes Contemporary Romance under the pen name Diane Alberts. She is a multi-published, bestselling author and is represented by Louise Fury from the L. Perkins Agency. Since receiving her first contract offer under the pen name Diane Alberts, she has yet to stop writing.
Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, a cat, and a Senegal parrot. In the rare moments when she’s not writing, she can usually be found hunched over one knitting project or another. Her goal is too write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.


Rating




Review

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK!  
This book is between 5 Stars and the Amaze-balls Rating... just saying - it was awesome and I really liked it... that's it - I'm making it Golden Star - Amaze-balls!

ok as you can tell - I really liked this book.  This is actually the first book I've read from this author (both names) **faces of shock** I know right... well I am in love with her writing.  She has amazing skills!  The flow is fantastic, the pace is great and the entire thing just goes.  I really couldn't put it down.

These characters are awesome, and I immediately was loving this story.  I know it's been done before, but seriously, I felt like it was all brand new.  Props to the author for making characters that are not broken!  I love stories with broken characters, I really do, but it was so nice to have good ol' regular folks in this story.  I mean they have issues, but we all do... don't get me wrong, but nothing catastrophic and I was so happy!  This story alternates POV between Carrie and Finn - it works really well in this story.

Now... you know I am a sucker for a man in uniform and W-O-W Finn does not disappoint!  He is sooooooooooooo good.  I really fell in love with Carrie as well.  She is strong and really wants to be independent.  She is smart and well spoken.


Here's a note from my journal that I keep while reading.  This one is from Carrie's POV:
"Finn fell silent, but he looked at me weird. As if I was an enigma he couldn't figure out, which was silly.  It was a simple matter.  I had money they didn't.  Easily fixed.  It wasn't exactly rocket science"
I love that she doesn't see how special she really is... Also love that without trying she is proving Finn wrong over and over again with his assumptions about her.

I fell for these characters from the beginning.  I really did like how the played off each other and worked together and developed.  They evolved into what happens - it just works.

I'm still working on calming down from the end - seriously, it's fantastic & leaves you wanting more!  There's a little cliffy ending, but it doesn't kill you just leaves you wanting more.  I'm pretty satisfied with this ending - I don't want to rip my hair out or anything, but I can't wait to read the next installment!

This book gave me feels - all kinds of feels!  Here are some samples of my notes on my feels:

early in the book
from Finn's POV
"She taunted me daily, without even trying.  I wanted her.
Too bad I couldn't have her."
Finn's heartache over Carrie - god I feel it too ;'(

About 75% through the book
Ah god ... My heart hurts for them both!

About 90% through the book
from Carrie's POV
"He made a choking sound.
'You don't have to answer.  I can see it in your eyes.'
'I'm so sorry,' my voice a mere whisper.  It's all I could manage past my aching throat.
He swallowed hard.  'I love you, will always love you.  I'm sorry I killed us before we even had a chance.'
And with that bombshell, he shut the door in my face."
:'(  I can't blame her, but GAAAAAAAH - my heart says one more chance too

At the finish of this book
from Finn's POV
"I hit the play message button ... 
When it ended, I let my hand fall to my side.  Fuck.  This wasn't going to be good ..."
Whhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaat!  Who called & What's happening!  
I can't wait for 2014!


I think you should check this book out - Fans of NA & Contemporary will love it.




  

Giveaway

Even though the book was just released, it is already zooming up the charts on Amazon and B&N. To celebrate this, Jen is offering a one-of-a-kind prize for a lucky reader! Anyone who helps spread the word about OUT OF LINE (through tweets, facebook messages, leaving a review, etc.) gets entered to win 30 pages of the manuscript, which include editing marks and special never-before-seen notes from Jen! You will have all the deets on what Jen changed, deleted scenes, and special extras. 

enter to win right here!!


Spread the word

I'd love it if you could post about the book on twitter and facebook.  You can use the tag #OUTOFLINE. 





No comments :

Post a Comment