The Guardian by J.L. McFadden #review



Choices by J.L. McFadden 

Publication date: January 21st 2015
Genres: Adult, Paranormal Romance


Synopsis:

This book is written in such away that it can be read as a stand alone or after the first book of the series- The Guardian. After so much more loss Adela finds herself in the middle of a love triangle and the fight for the head of Covens.
Adela and John both have their fair share of choices to make. Adela must think of her coven, but at the same time she feels a burning desire for her great, great niece’s Guardian John. She is torn because though fate has blessed her great, great niece with a Guardian that is connected to her by Mother Earth to protect her from anything, she keeps rejecting him. John is torn between the woman he is fated to and Adela. He fears that it is Adela’s powers of seduction that is tempting him. He feels a desire to protect Gala, but also feels a yearning for Adela. At the same time Adela must search for the secret journal known as the Guardian journal and protect those she loves from the dangers that lurk in the shadows.


Buy it:


Amazon



About the Author:


J.L McFadden is the Author of the Guardian Series: Guardian, released, Adela,release in September, Chooses, release in May 2014, Adela’s Lost Guardian, March, more to be named at a later date. McFadden spins tragedy and romance into all of his stories with picturesque descriptions that vividly paints and melts the scenes into your pleasure cortex that is a valid and important part of every readers mind.  Jamie Lee was born in a mixed Celtic and Slavic family in the river valleys of Pennsylvania, in his earlier years he played in bands in New York and ended up working his way into H.Q of the largest musical retailer in the world Guitar Center; while working at the store level he managed multiple departments at once and handled all the stores merchandising logistics. He has explored the world and became the first American to be excepted into the Interregional Federation of Aikido Aikikai of Crimea & Sevastopol, where he enjoys learning from great masters from around the world, where he has developed his himself. He explains that the people rich and colorfully different people he has met, spawned a lot of his characters.






Author links:



Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway (INTL)
$30 Amazon Gift Card + all 3 books in the series in paperback
2x $5 Amazon Gift card + all three books in ebook format



Now as part of this tour I am reviewing Book #1, The Guardian!


The Guardian




Synopsis:

John a young man from Detroit realizes he has a special bond with a vampire, which gives him special abilities and makes both of them a target; the ancients will stop at nothing to destroy him and his relationship with this unbridled female vampire. Will John's new found abilities be enough to save her and her coven?

Goodreads

Buy It:





My Rating & Review:




This story has all the parts to be a great read for me, but it just didn't seem to ever really come together for me.

The characters are there, they are good.  The story line is good and the world is really interesting.  Like really really interesting - I am really loving the world this author has built.

I hardly ever have bad things to say, and really these thoughts are not bad - the book overall is ok - I just didn't love it, I felt like I need more flow and connectivity throughout the story and the characters.  I was not immediately sucked in, however I was totally intrigued by John and what was happening to him.

The formatting in my review copy was a little hard to follow, but it wasn't horrible, and this might be different in the printed or amazon editions.  My review copy was from the author in exchange for the review.

I think readers who like PRN and Supernaturals will enjoy this world and like the story.  I will be checking out Choices for sure to see what happens for these characters!




this tour is organized by Xpresso Book Tours






xo,
jendsmit







Comments

  1. Thank you for the review and blogspot of the book. If you want an image of the new cover for The Guardian I can give it to you. :) Good Reads for some reason keeps showing the original. :) By the way, I love your site.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks so much for being on the tour, Jennifer! Lovely review! :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular Posts